2016 Laureate Award

Explanation: On March 9-10, the American Astronomical Society presented the team with its Neil Armstrong Space Flight Achievement Award, and New Horizons Principal Investigator Alan Stern with its Carl Sagan Memorial Award. Then on March 11, on behalf of the mission team, Stern also accepted the Dr. Robert H. Goddard Memorial Trophy from the National Space Club.


Image credit: Aviation Week Network, via NASA